Citizen Journalist!

I had some extra time today, so I meandered over to the Oxnard Chic-fil-a.  Let me share what I saw.

Line outside Chic-fil-a; cars waiting at the drive-thru

I spent some time simply entering the parking lot and navigating to a parking space.  At 1:40 this afternoon, there were about 100 people lined up outside the doors; 25 cars were lined up at the drive-thru.  Hand-held American flags were prominently displayed by some of the would-be patrons waiting outside.  There were no picket signs or cries of protest, just people waiting to eat and talking amongst themselves.  I did notice a “I Don’t Believe the Liberal Media,” bumper sticker, but this was the only “controversial” item I saw amongst the crowd.

There were a few curious people like myself snapping pictures, mostly with smart phones, although one fellow had a tripod.  I did engage in one editorial.  A man with a smart phone engaged me with a short statement about how Chic-fil-a has a right to their beliefs and the freedom to express them.  I agreed, but I told him that I wasn’t interested in waiting in the hour-long line to eat there today.  I had already eaten.

Leave a comment

Filed under Politics and culture

Leave a Reply

