A Starting Point for the Gay Rights Debate

The gay rights debate, and in particular the gay marriage debate, is irritating.  The reason is that the two sides have no common starting point for their debate.

I believe that God created Adam and Eve, man and woman,  and that this is the basis for intimate relationships in society.  God created Eve specifically for Adam: this relationship was unique.  Marriage is the unique relationship between a man and a woman and between them and God.  Marriage is modeled upon the relationship between Adam and Eve and between them and God.   I do not believe that a society, under God, should condone and legitimize intimate, sexual relationships between two men or two women in the context of marriage.

Choice is a popular argument: that homosexuality is not a choice.  I accept the words of my gay friends when they say that they feel attracted to others of the same sex.  I believe the science that shows people have proclivities toward certain behaviors.  Genetics, in part, determines who we are, or maybe who we can become.  But this is a slippery argument.  Genetic science has shown that humans are prone to all sorts of behaviors, and those behaviors manifest who we are.

Those of us against gay marriage are frequently portrayed as bigots and likened to racists.  When I interact with a person, I cannot see his sexuality.  In fact, I couldn’t care less about that.  I am concerned about how I will treat him, how he will treat me, what we can learn from each other or enjoy together, etc…  In fact, often a pro-gay marriage person will point out how gay another is based upon the way he speaks or carries himself.   This IS prejudiced.

Finally, I ask why our government regulates, and sometimes encourages, marriage.  In my opinion, it is because We the People recognized that marriage as defined above, and family which derives from marriage, is a cornerstone of a thriving society.  Perhaps our government should not regulate such a thing.  But please do not tell me that my beliefs as described above are hateful, or that I do not have a right to express these beliefs through our democratic process.

8 Comments

Filed under Politics and culture

8 responses to “A Starting Point for the Gay Rights Debate

  1. “When I interact with a person, I cannot see his sexuality. In fact, I couldn’t care less about that. I am concerned about how I will treat him, how he will treat me, what we can learn from each other or enjoy together, etc.”

    Well said, Casey.

  2. Your beliefs are harmful, at least when they make it into the ballot box. The notion that government should stay out of it is pure denialism. Marriage was a government institution long before Christians ever took an interest in the subject, and there is no reason to believe this will ever cease to be. To raise the prospect of a world without this concern is simply wishful thinking. Unfortunatelt, others will pay for this diversion.

    • Well, as I see it, marriage and family are fundamentally religious and from God, whereas governments are man’s creation – exactly the opposite of the way you have put it. I have a right to advance my values through my vote, as Americans have done for 200 + years.

      • You certainly do have that right, and I haven’t questioned it, Your present rights notwithstanding, that vote remains an act of malice, which is mitigated by neither your rationale nor your red herring.

      • I disagree that my vote is an act of malice, as do many others. It is a positive act, to advance my values, rather than a negative act of malice towards gay people.

      • Your positive act prevents others from enjoying the right to marry someone they love. This is a right that you enjoy fully yourself. Your bandwagon argument will never make that action any less harmful, nor will the slipper slope that I can sense on the horizon. The bottom line is you hurt people. Jesus didn’t teach you to do that, and neither did he teach you the double-speak you use to pretend it’s a positive thing. That malice came from you.

      • I don’t really want to debate this anymore. This is my argument, and I stand by it. That you call it a bandwagon argument tells me that you either do not believe it’s a reasonable one, or that you do not believe in my starting point, that God created Adam and Eve. If you don’t believe that, it’s logical that you would arrive at a different conclusion than I did.

Leave a Reply

